The Santa Cruz Police Officers Association proudly presents the 18th Annual Hot Rods at the Beach car show. The proceeds from the show are donated to the scholarship program of the SCPOA that benefits Santa Cruz County High School students. Students who complete the Automotive Service Technology Program through the Santa Cruz County Regional Occupational Program at Santa Cruz High School or Watsonville High School are eligible to apply for a scholarship. An application must be submitted, including the student’s high school transcript and a letter of recommendation. The applications are reviewed and the $2000 scholarships are awarded in June at the student’s high school’s awards ceremony. A continuation scholarship of $1,500 may be awarded to a student who qualifies for the following year. The SCPOA is proud to help industrial arts students further their education. For more information on scholarship eligibility requirements and application process please contact us.

2017 Scholarship Recipients

1) Rivaldo Zavala-Flores Santa Cruz High School

Katherine Mohler-Renewal Scholarship

Morgan Stier- Renewal Scholarship

2016 Scholarship Recipients

1) Katherine Mohler-Ponderosa High School
2) Morgan Stier- Ponderosa High School

2010 Scholarship Recipients

1) Kate Beardsley– Harbor High School
2) Jason Kline– Santa Cruz High School
3) Oscar Rocha – Santa Cruz High School


2009 Scholarship Recipients

1) Francisco Ruiz– Costa Noa High School
2) Kyle Stephens–Santa Cruz School


2007 Scholarship Recipients

1) Grant Welch – Scotts Valley High School
2) Thomas Cline – Soquel High School (continuing)
3) Braxton Alsip – Santa Cruz High School (continuing)


2006 Scholarship Recipients

1) Braxon Aslip-Santa Cruz High School
2) Thomas Cline-Soquel High School
3) MJ Solario-Soquel High School
4) Sawato Kawamuira-San Lorenzo Valley High School (continuing)


2005 Scholarship Recipients

1) Sawato Kawamuira-San Lorenzo Valley High School
2) Alvin Ng-Harbor High School
3) Matthew Lyman-San Lorenzo High School
4) Brent Ebert-Santa Cruz High School (continuing)
5) Bobby Amos-Santa Cruz High School (continuing)
6) Lloyd Harmon-Aptos High School (continuing)


2004 Scholarship Recipients

1) Richard Silviera-Santa Cruz High School
2) Brent Ebert-Santa Cruz High School
3) Bobby Amos-Santa Cruz High School
4) Lloyd Harmon-Aptos High School
5) Devin Morales-Harbor High School
6) Danny Manning-Monte Vista High School


2003 Scholarship Recipients

Veronica Murillo graduated from Harbor High School in June of 2003. She attended the auto shop at Santa Cruz High School. She left Sept. 25th, 2003 for Wyoming Technical School in Larame, Wyoming where she will take Auto Tech. classes along with Street Rod Fabrication and High Performance Engine classes over the next year. She is pictured with her dad and sister next to her ‘66 El Camino. She hopes someday to open her own restoration shop. She has also received a continuation scholarship of $1,500 for 2004.

Natalya Potter started in July of 2003 at Wyoming Technical School taking Auto Tech. courses including Hot Rod Fabrication, Collision Repair, and Interior such as upholstery. She graduated in June of 2003 from Harbor High School and also attended the Santa Cruz High School Auto Shop. She is pictured next to her 65 Malibu that she built with her dad. She has also received a continuation scholarship of $1,500 for 2004. At school in 2003-2004, She reupholstered her whole interior with custom graphics and re-carpeted the trunk.

Iain Tarbet attended the Auto Shop at Santa Cruz High School and graduated in June from San Lorenzo Valley High School. He is currently attending Cabrillo College in Aptos and working as a mechanic at Toyota of Santa Cruz. He is also a volunteer fireman for the Zayante Fire Department. He is taking Small Business Courses to someday own his own shop. He is pictured with the ’66 Charger he and his dad completely rebuilt. He has also received a continuation scholarship for 2004.

2002 Scholarship Recipients

Ben Wagnaar attended the Auto Shop at Santa Cruz High School where he graduated from in June of 2002. He is doing his first semester at Cabrillo College for engineering and will also be taking Automotive Technology courses at De Anza College.

Mike Lesui graduated from Soquel High School in June of 2002.

2001 and continuing for 2002

Ryan Carl was one of our scholarship winners from 2001 and he received a renewal scholarship of $1,500 for continuing in 2002. Ryan graduated from Aptos High School and enrolled at De Anza College for his second year of Automotive Technology. Ryan has already completed one year of training and has already received a few ASE certifications. He works with his dad, Rusty, who has been in the automotive business since 1974 and has owned Rusty’s Honda Mazda since 1986.



Mitch Smith works at Optimal Auto in Santa Cruz and graduated from Santa Cruz High School in 2001. He attended De Anza College.

Brendan Osmer graduated from Watsonville High School where he took auto shop. He went to Phoenix for school at the Universal Technical Institute (UTI) for an eighteen-month program consisting of instruction in automotive, diesel, industrial, and a special division Hot Rod U only offered by UTI.